Follow

Managing Disaster Recovery

Flex DR is a setup and ready-to-use disaster recovery that is the industry’s simplest – within three clicks. Flex DR includes manual and automatic snapshots with marketplace integration, stateless revert, site-to-site replication and tiered snapshot retention.

Requirements:

  • Two Storage Pools, both connected to the same virtual datacenter
  • A network route between storage blocks on each site.

The network route must be setup so the storage nodes' IPs and the storage blocks' virtual IPs can communicate. On the Hardware page under the storage block, click Show Details to view the storage block's Virtual IP. On the Hardware page, click on each storage node in turn to see its IP address.

Since the storage nodes' IPs and the storage block's virtual IP are assigned via DHCP, not statically, they're subject to change. If the network route is only setup between the current IPs and those IPs change, DR will fail. Because of this, Cloudistics recommends setting up the route between the Ignite physical subnets. On the Hardware page under each router, click Show Network Settings; the IP Range under Router Physical Network is the range of IPs that should be used when creating network routes. That is, the Router Physical Network IP Range on one site should have a network route to the Router Physical Network IP Range on the other site.

Setting up DR

  1. In ignite, navigate to the Application Instances page and click  the application instance for which DR is being setup.
  2. Click the Disaster Recovery tab and click Turn on Disaster Recovery or click the
  3. ellipsis button ("...") next to the desired snapshot, then select Turn on Disaster Recovery from the drop-down menuturn_on_dr.PNG
  4. In the wizard, select the settings you want, and click Turn on Disaster Recovery.

Understanding disaster recovery settings

  • The first field sets the interval at which snapshots of the instance are automatically taken
  • Once the Number of local automatic snapshots to retain is reached, the oldest automatic snapshot will be removed from local storage, but not DR.  Manual snapshots are not affected by retention policies
  • The Disaster Recovery Settings set the retention policy for automatic snapshots on the DR storage:
    • The retention policy fields are not additive. For example, let's use the values from the screenshot and assume the first snapshot is taken on 1/1/2017. Each week is assumed to be 7 days, each month is assumed to be 30 days and each year is assumed to be the calendar year, so this example retention policy is set to keep weekly snapshots for 182 days (26 weeks) and monthly snapshots for 180 days (6 months). Since the weekly snapshots are retained longer than the monthly snapshots, weekly snapshots are never rolled into monthly snapshots, so essentially the monthly snapshots interval is ignored.
    • For the first two weeks (1/1/17-1/15/17) all the hourly snapshots will be retained on the DR storage pool. After two weeks have passed, the first day's automatic snapshots will be combined into one daily snapshot which will have the data from the newest snapshot of that day. Afer 30 days or more have passed, the oldest daily snapshots will be rolled into weekly snapshots.
    • On 12/31/17 there will be one yearly snapshot 1/1/17, weekly snapshots 7/2/17-11/30/17, daily snapshots 12/1/17-12/16/17, and hourly snapshots 12/17/17-12/30/17. The oldest monthly snapshot would have been 7/4/17 if fewer weekly snapshots were retained.
    • On 1/1/18 the weekly snapshot from 7/2/17 will be older than 26 weeks, so it will be rolled into the next oldest weekly snapshot which was on 7/9/17. There will be one yearly snapshot 1/1/17, weekly snapshots 7/9/17-12/1/17, daily snapshots 12/2/17-12/17/17, and hourly snapshots 12/18/17-12/31/17.
    • On 1/2/18 the snapshot from 1/1/17 will have exceeded the yearly snapshot interval, so it will be rolled into the next oldest snapshot (7/9/17) which will be the new yearly snapshot. There will be one yearly snapshot 7/9/17, weekly snapshots 7/16/17-12/2/17, daily snapshots 12/3/17-12/18/17, and hourly snapshots 12/19/17-1/1/18.

DR snapshot actions

dr_snap_actions.PNG

Starting as a new instance

  1. Click New Instance next to the desired DR snapshot. 
  2. Configure settings for your new instance and click Create instance. new_instance_from_snapshot.PNG
  3. This will create a new instance from the state the original instance was in when the snapshot was taken.

Viewing vDisks

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") next to the desired snapshot, then select View vDisks from the drop-down menu. view_vdisks.PNG
  2. From here you can clone and attach vDisks by following these steps.

Deleting a snapshot

Note that deleting a snapshot cannot be undone. Automatic DR snapshots can only be deleted if DR is turned off, and manual DR snapshots can only be deleted if DR is turned off and/or the snapshot no longer exists on the source storage pool.

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") next to the desired snapshot, then select Delete from the drop-down menu. delete_manual_snap.PNG
  2. Click Delete Snapshot.

DR snapshot settings

dr_snaps_actions.PNG

Editing the DR retention policy

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") at the top of the Disaster Recovery tab and select DR retention policy. retention_policy.PNG
  2. Make the desired changes to the retention policy and click Update.

Changing the DR location

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") at the top of the Disaster Recovery tab and select Change DR location. change_dr_location.PNG
  2. If you have more than two storage pools, you can select a different storage pool to be the DR location and click Update.

Deleting all DR snapshots

Note that deleting a snapshot cannot be undone. Deleting all DR snapshots can only be done if DR is turned off.

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") at the top of the Disaster Recovery tab and select Delete all snapshots. delete_all_dr_snaps.PNG
  2. Click Delete All DR Snapshots. This will not affect local snapshots.

Turning off DR

  1. Click the ellipsis button ("...") at the top of the Disaster Recovery tab and select Turn off disaster recovery. turn_off_dr.PNG
  2. Select whether you want to keep DR snapshots until they are automatically deleted by your configured DR retention policy, or delete all the DR snapshots now.
  3. Click Turn Off Disaster Recovery.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments